Author Topic: MD HB 912 - Please help  (Read 10257 times)

Bruins_Boxer

  • Officially Boxer Crazy
  • ***
  • Posts: 8591
    • Bruins Boxers
MD HB 912 - Please help
« on: February 29, 2012, 09:10:54 AM »
Maryland is proposing bill  HB 912 , that will be heard on March 1st .

The bill would change the ownership status of pets going from owners to guardians . This means that legally pets will no longer be considered a persons property .
At best, a guardian has a limited or temporary possession of the property.  The guardianship right is bestowed by the government and can be arbitrarily revoked, meaning a pet can be taken from its guardian without just cause since the guardian does not own the property


Please contact the committee listed below to ask them to oppose this bill .

Delegate Maggie McIntosh (Chair)
Phone: (410) 841-3990
E-mail: Maggie.McIntosh@house.state.md.us

Delegate James E. Malone, Jr. (Vice Chair)
Phone: (410) 841-3378
E-mail: james.malone@house.state.md.us

Delegate Pamela G. Beidle
Phone: (410) 841-3370
E-mail: pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us

Delegate Elizabeth Bobo
Phone: (410) 841-3205
E-mail: elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us

Delegate Rudolph C. Cane
Phone: (410) 841-3427
E-mail: rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us

Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr.
Phone: (410) 841-3638
E-mail: alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

Delegate Barbara A. Frush
Phone: (410) 841-3114
E-mail: barbara.frush@house.state.md.us

Delegate James W. Gilchrist
Phone: (410) 841-3744
E-mail: jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us

Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn
Phone: (410) 841-3257
E-mail: cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us

Delegate Anne Healey
Phone: (410) 841-3961
E-mail: anne.healey@house.state.md.us

Delegate Patrick Hogan
Phone: (410) 841-3240
E-mail: patrick.hogan@house.state.md.us

Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.
Phone: (410) 841-3310
E-mail: marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jay A. Jacobs
Phone: (410) 841-3449
E-mail: jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us

Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty
Phone: (410) 841-3487
E-mail: stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us

Delegate Herb McMillan
Phone: (410) 841-3211
E-mail: herb.mcmillan@house.state.md.us

Delegate Doyle L. Niemann
Phone: (410) 841-3326
E-mail: doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us

Delegate H. Wayne Norman, Jr.
Phone: (410) 841-3284
E-mail: wayne.norman@house.state.md.us

Delegate Anthony J. O’Donnell
Phone: (410) 841-3314
E-mail: anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us

Delegate Charles J. Otto
Phone: (410) 841-3433
E-mail: charles.otto@house.state.md.us

Delegate A. Shane Robinson
Phone: (410) 841-3021
E-mail: shane.robinson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Dana M. Stein
Phone: (410) 841-3527
E-mail: dana.stein@house.state.md.us

Delegate Cathleen M. Vitale
Phone: (410) 841-3510
E-mail: cathy.vitale@house.state.md.us

Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr.
Phone: (410) 841-3328
E-mail: michael.weir@house.state.md.us

Delegate C.T. Wilson
Phone: (410) 841-3325
E-mail: ct.wilson@house.state.md.us
Missi
Edy - Bruin's Espresso by Stephlyn , CGC    5-2-2006
Remy - Bruin's One Step Closer    7-27-2010

Gone but never forgotten Mocha , Titan , Charlotte .

Bruins_Boxer

  • Officially Boxer Crazy
  • ***
  • Posts: 8591
    • Bruins Boxers
Re: MD HB 912 - Please help
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2012, 10:50:33 AM »
Received this today


House Bill 912 received an unfavorable report and will go no further this legislative session.

Linda Darby

Legislative Aide to Delegate O'Donnell


 :partybanana: :partybanana:
Missi
Edy - Bruin's Espresso by Stephlyn , CGC    5-2-2006
Remy - Bruin's One Step Closer    7-27-2010

Gone but never forgotten Mocha , Titan , Charlotte .

Christina

  • Socialized
  • ****
  • Posts: 1955
Re: MD HB 912 - Please help
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2012, 10:58:42 AM »
Yay!
Christina
Little Ann 2/14/96-4/6/10
Boomer 1996- 4/25/14
Lucky 4/24/04-8/27/14

Missy/Precious mom

  • Most Encouraging Member - 2009
  • Officially Boxer Crazy
  • ***
  • Posts: 15543
Re: MD HB 912 - Please help
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2012, 01:16:56 PM »
 :thumbsup:
Joyce

BoxerPerson

  • Best Signature Quote - 2008; Most Addicted Member - 2009
  • Retired Member
  • Officially Boxer Crazy
  • ***
  • Posts: 24423
  • Hey, anybody in there?
Re: MD HB 912 - Please help
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2012, 01:56:41 PM »
Great
Claire-Mom to Ollie, Zoe, Phoebe, Willie & Snookie

Goofy-Hailey-Nikki-Casey-Tyler-Cynder-Lilli-Daisy-Winnie-Felix-Levi-Ellie-&

3BOXERS

  • Canine Good Citizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 3147
Re: MD HB 912 - Please help
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2012, 05:49:00 PM »
Great news!