Author Topic: 2006 Whole Dog Journal approved food list  (Read 4327 times)

Bers

  • Most Underrated Member - 2009
  • Administrator
  • Canine Good Citizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 4878
  • DEADHEAD
2006 Whole Dog Journal approved food list
« on: March 15, 2007, 02:04:58 PM »
Here's the 2006 list from the Whole Dog Journal. These are highest quality foods. Most of these are not carried at large chain stores but you can usually find that at small pet stores, feed and grain stores, etc. Not all foods work for all dogs, but if you start with a food from this list, you are starting with a very high quality kibble. Canned versions and treats from these brands are also very good.

Artemis: www.artemispetfood.com
Azmira: www.azmira.com
Back to Basics: www.beowulfs.com
Bench & Field Holistic Natural Canine: www.benchandfield.com
Blue Buffalo: www.bluebuff.com
Burns: www.bpn4u.com
by Nature BrightLife: www.bynaturepetfoods.com
California Natural: www.naturapet.com
Canidae: www.canidae.com
Canine Caviar: www.caninecaviar.com
Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul: www.chickensoupforthepetloverssoul.com
Cloud Star Kibble: www.cloudstar.com
Drs. Foster & Smith: www.drsfostersmith.com
Eagle Pack Holistic Select: www.eaglepack.com
Evolve: www.evolvepet.com
Firstmate Dog Food: www.firstmate.com
Flint River Ranch: www.flintriver-pet-food.com
Foundations: www.petcurean.com
Fromm Four Star Nutritionals: www.frommfamilyfoods.com
Go! Natural: www.petcurean.com
Hund-N-Flocken: www.solidgoldhealth.com
Innova: www.naturapet.com
Innova Evo: www.naturapet.com
Karma Organic: www.karmaorganic.com
Lick Your Chops: www.healthypetfoodsinc.com
Lifespan: www.petguard.com
Limited Diets: www.royalcanin.us
Merrick Pet Foods: www.merrickpetcare.com
Mmillennia: www.solidgoldhealth.com
Natural Balance Ultra Premium: www.naturalbalanceinc.com
Natural Choice Ultra: www.nutroproducts.com
Newman's Own Organics: www.newmansownorganics.com
NutriSource: www.nutrisourcedogfood.com
Organix: www.castorpolluxpet.com
Performatrin Ultra: www.performatrinultra.com
PHD Viand: www.phdproducts.com
Pinnacle: www.breeders-choice.com
Prairie: www.naturesvariety.com
Premium Edge: www.premiumedgepetfood.com
Prime Life: www.ompetproducts.com
Royal Canin Natural Blend: www.royalcanin.us
Timberwolf Organics: timberwolforganics.com
VeRUS: www.veruspetfoods.com
Wellness: www.oldmotherhubbard.com
Wellness Simple Food Solutions: www.oldmotherhubbard.com
Wenawe: www.wenawe.com.uy
Wysong: www.wysong.net
Zinpro: www.lincolnbiotech.com


This post contributed by Julia (PuggleWB)
« Last Edit: April 01, 2009, 11:22:50 AM by BoxerWB »
Amber


JugglingWolves

  • Vet Checked
  • ***
  • Posts: 946
  • Mom, make sure you get my good side!
Re: 2006 Whole Dog Journal approved food list
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2007, 12:27:45 PM »
What a great list!

I just switched Keenan to Nutro Ultra and he's doing very well on it. He eats waaaay less and poos way less (which is wonderful!). I had him on just plain Nutro before and he went to the bathroom all day long it felt like! I'm liking the Ultra, but thanks for compiling this list so that I can reference it if I decide to switch again!

Bers

  • Most Underrated Member - 2009
  • Administrator
  • Canine Good Citizen
  • *****
  • Posts: 4878
  • DEADHEAD
Re: 2006 Whole Dog Journal approved food list
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2007, 06:37:25 PM »
Actually, we didn't compile it. The Whole Dog Journal is a monthly publication dedicated to natural pet care. http://www.whole-dog-journal.com/ Every year for some time now they release a list of approved foods. It used to be the top 10, but then the demand for healthier foods has grown so much that there are a very many foods that make the list. They don't rank them in anyway, but they describe their criteria for getting on the list and any food that meets the criteria is included. For years it has been the standard for determining whether a commercial dog food is suitable. We aren't really supposed to copy the list, but you can find it in various different locations around the web. I encourage anyone who appreciates the list to invest in a subscription to this beneficial publication.
Amber


BoxerPerson

  • Best Signature Quote - 2008; Most Addicted Member - 2009
  • Retired Member
  • Officially Boxer Crazy
  • ***
  • Posts: 24423
  • Hey, anybody in there?
Re: 2006 Whole Dog Journal approved food list
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2007, 07:31:13 PM »
Amber there is a new listing out for 2007.
Claire-Mom to Ollie, Zoe, Phoebe, Willie & Snookie

Goofy-Hailey-Nikki-Casey-Tyler-Cynder-Lilli-Daisy-Winnie-Felix-Levi-Ellie-&

PoseidonsMom

  • Socialized
  • ****
  • Posts: 2346
  • The eyes are the window to the soul
Re: 2006 Whole Dog Journal approved food list
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2007, 11:15:16 PM »
Amber there is a new listing out for 2007.

I posted it on the old board last week or the week before.